‘Linux Command-Line Tips & Tricks’ paperback and ebook updated

Lots of new tips and tricks added. Code snippets are syntax highlighted (only in paperback).

Last week, I moved the last remaining of my books from Ubuntu 10.10 to Linux Mint 20. I changed some covers. I developed a Javascript trick to detect missing images in HTML. I also learned to use ImageMagick to detect images with CMYK profiles and less than 300 DPI. Book cover images in my backlist had CMYK profiles. These came from the KDP cover template and khtmltopdf would complain about them. I also wrote two articles for Open Source For You magazine.

  • How to tame Mozilla Firefox
    This article was about how to lock down Firefox using policies.json file.
  • BASH Secrets Nobody Talks About
    The other article was about some new and important things that I discovered about bash shell programming language.

All of these discoveries were added to my book Linux Command-Line Tips & Tricks. My book-creation process is highly automated. Highly, not fully. The paperback (PDF) creation process is fully automated with shell scripts. My ebook creation process is still partly manual. Calibre has a command-line interface so in future I will fully automate that too.

Book cover of Linux Command-Line Tips & Tricks

Make a comment