I wrote, illustrated, designed and published 20 books in one year

In my first year. It must be a record.

The first book was published in February 2020. The last book published in February 2021 was the 20th.

Amazon held up one paperback. Given how sensitive they are to outspoken writers, I did not pursue it. If that book was not held up, I would have finished my first year in publishing with 21 books.

The last few books are:

Ólafia is one of my pseudonyms. I could not get ebook stores to publish my combined ebook version of World Of Word Ladder books. It is now a free gift for subscribers to my newsletter.

To celebrate the publication of the 20th book, I delisted the ebook of FFMPEG Quick Hacks one month early. It is currently hosted on Dropbox because my hosting provider has been suffering several DDOS attacks lately.

There is a Facebook group called something like 20BooksTo50K. I have not had any success with my twenty books. They are mostly non-fiction and not related to any one niche. There seems to be some shadow-banning as well. Amazon wants to make money from its customers. Failing that, it wants to make money from authors with their ads program. This an optimization to an extreme extent.

So, I have quit writing books… for now. I am now adding the latest books to back of all the other books. After that, I will take a break. I have proved I am a better writer than all the rest. So there! Mission accomplished.

I have also updated all my apps – Java and Android – with links to the new website at www.VSubhash.in. I regained control of VSubhash.com. Hosting is extremely expensive now that Net4 is bankrupt and its owner is on the run from police.

After the sites have stabilized, I will be working on my Javascript-free CMS – SqlSiteServer. It needs to have a RSS reader and mailing list functionality. I also have lots of electronic projects waiting to be explored.

Because of the lockdown, I upgraded my DSL internet connection to fibre. The connection is fast but stalls every now and then. I still cannot stream videos and I continue to watch videos offline. The local sons-of-monkeys continue to switch off the electricity supply several times a day. There is no let up in the harassment. These pigs also cause voltage fluctuations at other times. This has happened in three Indian states. It must be a coincidence.

I bought two UPS devices for my network devices. These newfangled devices are called ‘router UPS’ and ensure that the net connection is always on. Even if the electricity goes off, online classes can continue. They are like power banks but with DC power connectors for network routers, modems and switches. You just connect your existing power adapter to the router UPS and the router UPS to the network device. After that, the network does not go down with a power cut. If you have a laptop with battery, you continue to work for several hours into the blackout.

 

Make a comment